Research Design Service: East Midlands
National Institute for Health Research

Fellowship Programme

Aim: To support outstanding individuals to become the health research leaders of the future.

Funding: Five levels of NIHR Fellowship award are available:

  • Doctoral Research Fellowship
  • Postdoctoral Research Fellowship
  • Career Development Fellowship
  • Senior Research Fellowship
  • Transitional Research Fellowship.

Process: Two-stage process. Short-listed applicants will be invited to an interview (interview tips). The process takes 5 months.

Criteria: Applications are assessed on the following criteria:

  • the potential and trajectory of the candidate as a researcher and future research leader
  • previous experience of research and evidence of commitment to a career in research
  • the likelihood that the individual will make a long-term contribution to research development in their chosen field in the UK
  • the quality of the proposed research and the likelihood of it securing external funding where appropriate
  • the quality of the proposed training programme
  • the suitability of the proposed academic and institutional support
  • the quality of the proposed research and its suitability as a project
  • the appropriateness of resources claimed and whether the total funding requested represents good value for the use of public/NIHR funds.

Website: Fellowships for All

The Trainees Coordinating Centre (TCC) also has other awards available:

  • Knowledge Mobilisation Fellowships: KMF
  • Integrated Clinical Academic Porgramme: ICA
  • Research Professorships: Professorships
  • Integrated Academic Training Programme for Doctors and Dentists: IATPDD
  • Clinical Trials Fellowships: CTF
  • Research Methods Programme: RMP.